Asia League retirements 2016

春名 真仁 HARUNA Masahito

After a 19 year pro career, 453 games, and 2 Asia League championships between the pipes, 春名 真仁 Haruna Masahito of the Nikko Icebucks has retired.

Haruna played 12 seasons in the Asia League with the Icebucks and Oji Eagles after the JIHL folded. He is the all-time AL shutout leader with 29 and shares the season record of 7 with Matt Dalton.

Haruna also represented the Japanese national team 14 times, winning bronze five times and the best GAA and SV% in 2009/10.

Nikko Icebucks

2004-06, 15-16

Oji Eagles


大澤 秀之 OSAWA Hideyuki

大澤秀之 Osawa Hideyuki, Japanese hockey legend, Nippon Paper Cranes fan favorite and the Asia League iron man, retired today after 484 consecutive Asia League games over 15 seasons.

He is the only player to play every game since the the Asia League started in 2003-04. All 484 games in a Crane’s uniform.

Osawa played in six Asia League finals, winning three as well as the Asia Leagues first title in 03-04 when no playoffs were held.

In the history of the league, he sits first in games played, and third in points for a defenseman.

On the international stage. Osawa Hideyuki was a member of Team Japan, winning bronze four times in the World Hockey championships division 1 between 2005-2010

D Nippon Paper Cranes


室谷 徹 MUROTANI Tohru
RW Nikko Icebucks


高橋 皓介 TAKAHASHI Kosuke
F Tohoku Freeblades


China Dragon


池田 昇平 IKEDA Shohei
 F Tohoku Freeblades


今城 和智 IMAJO Kazutomo
 D Tohoku Freeblades

2009-13, 14-16

China Dragon


木本 栄人 KIMOTO Shigehito
G Tohoku Freeblades


China Dragon


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.